top of page
HOF Background_edited.jpg

Korea Moo Duk Kwan
Hall Of Fame

First Inductee: 
Grandmaster Hwang Kee

Grandmaster Hwang Kee is the founder of Moo Duk Kwan and first inductee into the Taekwondo Moo Duk Kwan "Hall of Fame".  Hwang Kee founded the Moo Duk Kwan in 1945.  He was born in 1914, and is said to have escaped to Manchuria in 1936 during the height of the Japanese occupation, where he studied Chinese fighting systems. He eventually returned to Korea and began teaching his own style called “Hwa Soo Do” in the Young-san area of Seoul, near the present day railroad station, where he was employed. Hwang’s initial attempts were unsuccessful since most of the population was only familiar with Japanese styles such as Karate, Judo or Kendo. In 1947, he met with two fellow masters, Won Kuk Lee of the Chung Do Kwan and Sang Sup Chun of the Yeon Moo (Ji Do) Kwan, both of whom had studied Karate in Japan and were having much more success at their respective schools. After much consideration, Hwang chose to use the more-recognized name “Tang Soo Do” and adopt the curriculum used by Lee and Chun.

Over the next decade, Hwang Kee used his position with the railroad to open Moo Duk Kwan branch schools all over the country. By the early 1960s, his organization had grown to the point that more than 70% of all practitioners in Korea were members of the Moo Duk Kwan.

KTMA Logo Round Official.webp

Second Inductee: 
Ik Lee Kang, 1st President 

Ik Lee Kang was the second inductee into the Korea Taekwondo Moo Duk Kwan due to his election as the first President of the newly formed Taekwondo Moo Duk Kwan.  Hwang Kee had set up the Moo Duk Kwan with a board of directors, a vote occurred and the majority chose to move forward and formally join the Korea  Taekwondo Association, creating a new “Taekwondo Moo Duk Kwan” with Kang Ik Lee as first president.

KTMA Logo Round Official.webp
PP 1.webp

Third Inductee: 
Grandmaster Chong Soo Hong

The second inductee into the Taekwondo Moo Duk Kwan "Hall of Fame", Chong Soo Hong.  Grandmaster Hong was a major figure in the Moo Duk Kwan who served as the 2nd President, played a pivotal role in the unification process, integration of Moo Duk Kwan into the KTA and later Kukkiwon where he served as Vice President.  He was also responsible for the creation of the Korea Taekwondo Moo Duk Kwan Hae. It is said that although the Kwans were “officially” terminated, many senior masters continued to identify themselves by their Kwan and would form fraternal organizations to continue their Kwan tradition. Once such group was the “Moo Duk Hwoi” (pronounced “hae”), organized by Chong Soo Hong and comprised of senior Moo Duk Kwan masters in Korea.   In the 1980's under the leadership of American based Korean Moo Duk Kwan Masters the Pan American Taekwondo Moo Duk Kwan Society was created.  Later the term society was dropped and replaced when under under the leadership of appointed President Jong Hwan Lee the organization became an official branch of the Korea Taekwondo Moo Duk Kwan.

KTMA Logo Round Official.webp

Fourth Inductee: 
Chon, Jae Kyu

Chon, Jae Kyu served as the Korea Taekwondo Moo Duk Kwan President served honorably for 37 years.  During his tenure he also served as a "High Dan" examiner for the Kukkiwon.  Under his leadership he expanded the organization by adding a Pan American Division covering Canada, USA, Mexico and South America.  His vision was to maintain the honor of the Kwan and to preserve the heritage of the Korea Taekwondo Moo Duk Kwan Hae/Organization.  Over the years, he cooperated with the KTA and Kukkiwon adhering to the original "Consolidation" Agreement.  He continued to work tirelessly traveling and representing the Kwan until his passing.  In his last year, knowing he was ill, he worked to identify a successor to implement his vision of rejuvenating, modernizing and moving the Kwan forward technologically to ensure it's access by all members around the World.  It was this mission that he gave to Jong Hwan Lee upon appointing him as the successor to Presidency of the Taekwondo Moo Duk Kwan.  

KTMA Logo Round Official.webp
bottom of page